Huskie Women's Volleyball History

Women’s volleyball on the University of Saskatchewan dates back to 1949-50 when Jean Storey led the team to the Dr. Sam Landa Trophy.

The trophy was handed to the championship team of the Western Canada Intercollegiate Athletic Union.  

The Huskies were crowned champions two more times — 1950-51, 1951-52 and 1954-57.

During the WCIAU time period, the team had 13 different coaches including Sylvia Fedoruk, Jean Storey, Jean Ward, Marilyn Wearing, Myrna Leverson, Lerne Schemmer, Pat Lawson, J. Leiper, S. Pyke, Pat Jackson, Cheryl Stacey, Carol McClure, and Peter Stohart.

In 1971, the University of Saskatchewan joined five other universities in the Canada West Universities Athletic Union. In this year, Mark Tennant, a professor in the College of Kinesiology, took over the team. He would remain the leader of the Huskies until his retirement from coaching in 1996-97. He tallied a 227-139 record.

During his tenure, the team was crowned Canada West champions seven times (1974-75, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81, 1983-84, 1990-91, 1991-92) and Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union (now CIS) champion three times (1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81). They were the first team in history in any CIAU sport to win the championship three years in a row.

The Canada west began recording all-stars in 1979. With the exception of the 1984-85 season, Huskie Athletics had at least two all-stars in each season from 1979 to 1992.

Standout during this time period included Stacey Singler (Cooke). Singler was in the starting linepup from her first match with the Huskies and continued as the club’s number one setter for five consecutive seasons. She was a Canada West all-star in 1989-90, 1990-91 and 1991-92 and was also a  CIAU All-Canadian in those years.

Giselle Rongve, Nancy Baker and Laurie Baber (who coached the team in 1989-90) all were three time all-stars in this time period as well.

In 1997-98, Leslie Irie took over the Huskie squad until her departure in 2010-11. Under Irie, the Huskies participated in five CIS championship tournaments including two as host in 2003-04 and 2004-05. She was named conference coach of the year twice and CIS coach of the year once.

Jason Grieve ran the squad from 2011 to 2015.

Huskie men's volleyball alum and former CIS MVP Mark Dodds was named head coach to begin the 2015-16 season.

**Huskie Athletics is still in the process of searching for women’s volleyball history. We are looking for information from the following years: 1991-92, 1992-93, 1993-93, 1994-95 and 1996-97. If you have any information, please contact Nicole Betker at or 306-966-1024**

Women's Volleyball Statistical History

Career Leaders

Season Leaders

Year-by-Year Results

Playoff Results

Records (vs U SPORTS Opponents)

Mark Dodds Record

Canada West All-Stars

Canada West Awards


National Awards

Huskie Athletics Awards

All-Time Athlete List