Every season, Huskie Athletics celebrates the athletic achievements of student-athletes at the annual Huskie Salute. At the celebration, the Huskie Athletics Major 7 Awards are handed to student-athletes for their achievements. The following is a list of receipients of the awards dating back to 1939.

E. Kent Phillips Trophy - Presented to the Male Athlete of the Year *

The E. Kent Phillips trophy is named in honour of Kent Phillips who was both an athlete and coach at the University of Saskatchewan. Phillips excelled in both rugby and hockey. As a coach, he led the Huskies to four consecutive rugby titles in the 1930s.

* Prior to 1989, this award was only given to an outstanding male athlete of a team sport.

Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy - Presented to the Female Athlete of the Year

The Mary Cartwright trophy is dedicated to the founder of the School of Physical Education at the University of Saskatchewan. Mary Cartwright was instrumental in the establishment of the women's recreation board on campus - today known as Campus Recreation.

Rusty MacDonald Cup - Presented to the All-Round Male Athlete

The Rusty MacDonald Cup has been given given to male athletes since 1939. Rusty MacDonald played on the Huskie football team as a centre and middle linebacker. He was also a champion diver and involved in student government. The Cup is awarded to an upper year male student-athlete who during his entire career as a Huskie exhibited the highest qualities of sportmanship and citizenship.

Valerie Girsberger Trophy - Presented to the All-Round Female Athlete

Valerie Girsberger was an accomplished student - graduating with a Bachelor's in both Science and Physical Education. She added a Masters in Physical Education. She was a member of the basketball and field hockey teams. Just six weeks after starting a teaching job at the University of Manitoba, she was killed in a car accident. The award is given to an upper year female student-athlete who during her entire career best combines the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, academic ability and athletic prowess.

Howard Nixon Trophy - Presented to the Male Rookie of the Year *

Howard Nixon was a longtime faculty member in the College of Physical Education. He was the coach of both the Huskie football and wrestling programs, before being named the first Dean of the College of Physical Education.

* Until 1988, the Howard Nixon Trophy was given to the Most Outstanding Male Tournament Athlete

Patricia Lawson Trophy - Presented to the Female Rookie of the Year

Patricia Lawson is considered as one of the greatest female athletes to ever don a Huskie uniform. She competed with track & field, swimming, basketball and tennis. She also held the post of Women's Athletic Director and the coach of the women's basketball team for eight seasons.

Colb McEown Trophy - Presented to the Coach of the Year

Colb McEown was a graduate of the University of Saskatchewan, who began with athletics on campus as the 1932 men's basketball coach. While in the position, he led the Huskies to eight straight Western Intercollegiate Championships. He was also the driving force behind the building of the on-campus curling rink and in the establishment of the Saskatoon Hilltops football club.

Historical List of Huskie Athletics Major 7 Award Winners

2017-18 Winners

E. Kent Phillips Trophy - Kieran Johnston, Men's Track & Field

Second-year Arts & Science student, Kieran Johnston, won gold in the heptathlon at both the Canada West and U SPORTS championships. At the national championship, he scored 5,259 points – 208 ahead of the silver medalists – by finishing first in all but two of the seven events. He also won a silver at the Canada West Championship in the 60-metre hurdles.
Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy - Julie Labach, Women's Track & Field
Julie Labach claimed six medals at the Canada West and U SPORTS championship in 2017-18. Helping the Huskies to the conference title, the fourth-year Business student accumulated 21 of the team's 97 points with gold in the 1000-metres and 600-metres. She added silver medals in the 1500-metres and 4X400-metre relay. On the national stage, she added a gold in the 100-metres and a bronze in the 600-metres.
Rusty MacDonald Cup - Kendall McFaull, Men's Hockey

An all-star in all five seasons, Kendall McFaull finished his career winning the conference and U SPORTS Student-Athlete Community Award. The mechanical engineering student played in 111 regular season games for the Huskies and was twice named to the U SPORTS all-star hockey team that competes against the Canadian World Junior team. A four-year captain, he has volunteered for HAC, Huskie Homeroom, Saskatoon Minor Hockey and Recess Guardians.

Valerie Girsberger Trophy - Kaitlin Willoughby, Women's Hockey

Two time Canada West All-Star and one-time All-Canadian, Meagan Manson's five-year career coincides with the most successful seasons in program history including earning a playoff berth for the first time in history, hosting the conference championship, winning Canada West bronze twice and a trip to the national championship for the first time in history.

The Prince Albert native and Business student has been captain of the Huskies for the last three seasons and has been named to the Dean's Honour Roll throughout her career. She has given back to the community by coaching youth soccer players, and volunteering at various events throughout the city.


Howard Nixon Tropyhy - Dylan Mortensen, Men's Volleyball

For the third straight season, the Howard Nixon Trophy for male rookie of the year is awarded to volleyball. Dylan Mortensen was named the Canada West and national rookie of the year after leading the Huskies in kills with 299. Playing in all 24 matches, the outside hitter added 116 digs, 24 service aces and 28.5 blocks.

Patricia Lawson Trophy - Kendra Farmer, Women's Track & Field

Sprinter Kendra Farmer won the Patricia Lawson Trophy after winning a silver medal in the 4X400-metre relay and a bronze in the 4X200-metre relay at the Canada West Championship. She added a fourth-place finish in the 300-metre race. 


Colb McEwon Trophy - Jason Reindl, Track & Field
  Head coach Jason Reindl won the Colb McEwon Trophy for Coach of the Year after guiding the women's team to the Canada West Championship in his first-year with the program.