Board of Trustees

With a proud tradition and history dating back 105 years, Huskie Athletics has long been recognized as one of the most successful programs in Canadian Interuniversity Sport, playing an integral role in enhancing the reputation and culture of the university. Beginning in November 2016, Huskie Athletics will be advised and guided by a new Board of Trustees.

By moving to a university-wide level, Huskies Athletics will be further mandated to provide an elite student-athlete experience within a unique, ever-changing environment that fosters athletic and academic excellence. 

The first iteration of the board will include the following community members: Diane Jones Konihowski, Tom Anselmi, David Sutherland, Shelley Brown, David Dubé and Ken Juba. The U of S representatives are: Patti McDougall, vice-provost, teaching and learning, Greg Fowler, vice-president finance and resources, Debra Pozega Osburn, vice-president university relations, Chad London, dean of the College of Kinesiology, and Peta Bonham-Smith, interim dean of the College of Arts and Science. 


Huskie Athletics provides a high performance student-athlete experience within a unique and innovative academic and athletic environment that fosters excellence. We will be the top university athletics program in Canada, on the field and in the classroom.


Huskie Athletics is committed to ensuring gender equity across its activities and aligning with the university's mission, vision ad values by promoting:

  • Excellence
  • Commitment to community
  • Diversity
  • Equality
  • Human dignity
  • Integrity
  • Honesty
  • Ethical behaviour
  • Fairness

Highlights of Responsibilities

  • To recommend appointment of a chief athletics officer to the president and dean of kinesiology
  • To advise the president about Huskie Athletics
  • To assist in identifying and generating revenue to support student-athlete scholarships, and athletic programs and facilities
  • To facilitate and assist in developing and growing a strong Huskie Athletics alumni and fan community 

Board of Trustees - Terms of Reference

University of Saskatchewan Members

Chad London
Dean College of Kinesiology

Shawn Burt
Chief Athletics Officer

 Peta Bonham-Smith
Interim Dean College of Arts & Science

Greg Fowler
Vice President Finance & Resources

Patti McDougall
Vice-Provost Teaching and Learning

Debra Pozega Osburn
Vice-President University Relations


Community Members

David Dube

Tom Anselmi

Shelley Brown

Diane Jones-Konihowski

Ken Juba

David Sutherland